Pathfinding and positioning for the future at the 26th AAC annual general meeting

The Agricultural Adaptation Council (AAC) reflected on its past year of program delivery and discussed future opportunities at its December 2nd annual general meeting.  

“AAC is primed for the future, by leveraging our 26 years of experience in effective program delivery for the Ontario agriculture and food industry.” said newly elected Board Chair, Doug Alexander. “I am confident in the 2021-2022 board’s ability to carry on the momentum of the past board – continuing to seek new program delivery opportunities, engage with our 60 member organizations and move the strategic plan forward.”

The 2021-2022 board was elected at the AGM and includes:

  • Chair: Doug Alexander, Agri-business/Retail/Food Processor
  • Vice Chair: Ed Scharringa, General Farm Interest
  • Treasurer: Dennis Fischer, Livestock
  • Secretary: Sara Wood, Youth-at-Large
  • Peggy Brekveld, General Farm Interest
  • Scott Buchan, Supply Management
  • Keith Black, Grains/Seeds/Oilseeds/Specialty Crops
  • Maaike Campbell, Livestock
  • Norman Charbonneau, Horticulture
  • Chris Hiemstra, Other Industries/Commodity Groups
  • Ashley Knapton, Youth-at-Large
  • Ruth Knight, Other Organizations
  • Jamie Payton, Grains/Seeds/Oilseeds/Specialty Crops
  • Mark Wales, Horticulture
  • Henry Wydeven, Supply Management

The AGM attendees were also inspired and engaged by keynote speaker, Peter Hall, Vice-President & Chief Economist, at Export Development Canada. Peter shared his thought-provoking insights regarding Canada’s greatest export opportunities.

This was also the final AGM for AAC executive director, Terry Thompson, who has been with the organization for 23 years. Under Terry’s leadership, AAC has built a reputation as a highly professional and trusted organization, and is well-positioned to move forward under the direction of AAC’s new executive director, Melanie DiReto, effective January 1, 2022.

To learn more about AAC, please visit