AAC Board of Directors

The AAC is made up of almost 60 Ontario agricultural, agri-food and rural organizations. It is these member organizations that annually elect 16 directors to serve on the AAC board. They are joined by 2, non-voting, liaisons from the federal and provincial government.

As a corporate body, the AAC directors have one client: the Ontario agri-food industry. The AAC board of directors has a unique understanding of funding program requirements, farming and agribusiness. It’s who they are and what they do. A complete list of the AAC’s membership and sectoral structure can be found by clicking here.

Chris Hiemstra

Chris Hiemstra

Representing: Other Industries / Commodities

Chris is a commercial bee farmer and operator of an agri-tourism adventure farm in Aylmer. Chris and his wife, Christy, co-own a commercial bee operation focused on honey, pollen, pollination and the sale of honeybees to other beekeepers and operate an adventure farm, based on bees, flowers, and pumpkins. A graduate of the University of Guelph Diploma Horticulture program, Chris previously worked in the greenhouse industry as technician in bumblebee pollination and biological control.

Chris was elected to the AAC board in 2014, as the Other Industries/Commodities representative. He is currently serving his second year as Chair of the AAC Board. Chris is also a director on the North American Direct Farmer's Marketing Association.