AAC Board of Directors

The AAC is made up of over 66 Ontario agricultural, agri-food and rural organizations. It is these member organizations that annually elect 16 directors to serve on the AAC board. They are joined by 2, non-voting, liaisons from the federal and provincial government.

As a corporate body, the AAC directors have one client: the Ontario agri-food industry. The AAC board of directors has a unique understanding of funding program requirements, farming and agribusiness. It’s who they are and what they do. A complete list of the AAC’s membership and sectoral structure can be found by clicking here.

Ed Scharringa

Ed Scharringa

Representing: General Farm Interest

Ed Scharringa was elected to the Agricultural Adaptation Council (AAC) board in 2016. He is one of two General Farm Organizations representatives on the board. He currently also serves on the Executive Board of the Christian Farmers Federation of Ontario and the Board of Directors for Farm & Food Care Ontario.

Ed has been involved in horticulture for over 40 years. He and his wife Elaine are based in the Greater Hamilton area, where they have been growers of specialty crops, producing greenhouse and outdoor cut flowers for Canadian and US markets. They have also owned a retail market and restaurant. Today, Ed is an acting advisor for two farm businesses owned by his children.