AAC Board of Directors

The AAC is made up of over 66 Ontario agricultural, agri-food and rural organizations. It is these member organizations that annually elect 16 directors to serve on the AAC board. They are joined by 2, non-voting, liaisons from the federal and provincial government.

As a corporate body, the AAC directors have one client: the Ontario agri-food industry. The AAC board of directors has a unique understanding of funding program requirements, farming and agribusiness. It’s who they are and what they do. A complete list of the AAC’s membership and sectoral structure can be found by clicking here.

Jason Verkaik

Jason Verkaik

Representing: Horticulture

Jason Verkaik was elected to the Agricultural Adaptation Council (AAC) board in 2016. He is one of two Horticulture representatives on the board.

Jason Verkaik is president of Carron Farms Ltd, which is owned and operated by the Verkaik family. The Verkaik family has been farming, packaging and shipping farm fresh vegetables from the Holland Marsh since 1934. Jason was a finalist for the Ontario Outstanding Young Farmer Award in 2011. He served as Vice Chair of the Ontario Fruit and Vegetable Growers Association from 2013-2015, and was Chair from 2015-2016.