AAC Board of Directors

The AAC is made up of over 66 Ontario agricultural, agri-food and rural organizations. It is these member organizations that annually elect 16 directors to serve on the AAC board. They are joined by 2, non-voting, liaisons from the federal and provincial government.

As a corporate body, the AAC directors have one client: the Ontario agri-food industry. The AAC board of directors has a unique understanding of funding program requirements, farming and agribusiness. It’s who they are and what they do. A complete list of the AAC’s membership and sectoral structure can be found by clicking here.

Mark Huston

Mark Huston

Representing: Youth-at-Large

Mark Huston was elected to the Agricultural Adaptation Council (AAC) board of directors in 2011. He is one of two youth-at-large representatives on the board.

Mark was born and raised on a mixed farm in Kent County just outside of Thamesville. In 2004, he graduated from the University of Western Ontario with a BSc. in Genetics. Following graduation, Mark enrolled in Class 11 of the Advanced Agricultural Leadership Program. Mark, his Father and Uncle, currently operate a 1,300 acre corn, soybean and wheat farm while also finishing pigs on the original family farm, which was established in 1830.

Mark has previously served as a director on the Kent County Federation of Agriculture and Ontario Soybean Growers. Mark is currently serving as one of two Vice-Chairs of the Grain Farmers of Ontario, representing District 2 (Kent County), and also serves as the chairman of Soy Canada. He has a keen interest in the innovations that AAC has the ability to foster and looks forward to being in the agriculture industry long enough to be replaced by his sons.