AAC Board of Directors

The AAC is made up of almost 60 Ontario agricultural, agri-food and rural organizations. It is these member organizations that annually elect 16 directors to serve on the AAC board. They are joined by 2, non-voting, liaisons from the federal and provincial government.

As a corporate body, the AAC directors have one client: the Ontario agri-food industry. The AAC board of directors has a unique understanding of funding program requirements, farming and agribusiness. It’s who they are and what they do. A complete list of the AAC’s membership and sectoral structure can be found by clicking here.

Mark Wales

Mark Wales

Representing: Horticulture

Mark graduated from the University of Guelph in 1976 with a Bachelor of Science in Agriculture and has been involved in diversified farming in the horticulture sector and tobacco ever since. He is a graduate of Class 6 of the Advanced Agricultural Leadership Program and participated in the 2004 Nuffield Canada Scholarship program.

Mark was elected to the AAC board in 2018, as one of two Horticulture representatives. He also previously served as Chair of the Ontario Agricultural Commodity Council, Chair of the Ontario Fruit and Vegetable Grower's Association (OFVGA) Safety Nets Section, and President of the Ontario Federation of Agriculture. Currently, Mark serves as the sole Canadian Agricultural member of the International Joint Commissions Great Lakes Water Quality Board.