AAC Board of Directors

The AAC is made up of over 66 Ontario agricultural, agri-food and rural organizations. It is these member organizations that annually elect 16 directors to serve on the AAC board. They are joined by 2, non-voting, liaisons from the federal and provincial government.

As a corporate body, the AAC directors have one client: the Ontario agri-food industry. The AAC board of directors has a unique understanding of funding program requirements, farming and agribusiness. It’s who they are and what they do. A complete list of the AAC’s membership and sectoral structure can be found by clicking here.

Peggy Brekveld

Peggy Brekveld


Representing: General Farm Interest

Peggy Brekveld was elected to the Agricultural Adaptation Council (AAC) board of directors in 2015. She is one of the two General Farm Interest representatives on the board. In 2017, Peggy was re-elected secretary on the AAC executive committee.

Peggy is a northern Ontario dairy farmer and was acclaimed as the Ontario Federation of Agriculture (OFA) Vice President for a second term at the 2015 OFA Annual General Meeting (AGM). Peggy was also was also elected Director at-Large for a three-year term at the 2014 OFA AGM.

She previously served as Zone 15 Director for three years (2011-2014) representing the counties of Algoma, Cochrane, Dryden, Kenora, ManitoulinNorth Shore, Nippissing East & West, Parry Sound, Rainy River, Sudbury East & West, Temiskaming and Thunder Bay. She has been a board member of the Thunder Bay Federation of Agriculture since 2005, including two years as President.

Peggy and her husband Gert own and operate Woodstar Farm, a 50-cow dairy operation in Murillo, Ontario. She is actively involved in promoting the importance of Thunder Bay agriculture and local food to politicians, municipalities, students and other community groups.

Peggy is a Class 12 graduate of the Advanced Agricultural Leadership Program. In 2008, the Brekvelds were finalists in Ontario's Outstanding Young Farmers program.